Light in Darkness

At the church where my husband and I worship – College Church in Wheaton, IL – many people in the congregation are presently memorizing Psalm 139 at the rate of about 2 verses a week.   So far, I’ve memorized up to verse 10.  The two verses I’ll be working on this next week are 11-12, and they’re posted above my kitchen sink.  I study them while I rinse dishes, and rehearse them when I walk around the house doing other things like putting away laundry.  A few years ago, I wrote a devotional about verses 11-12, which I’m including here:

“I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light around me to become night – but even in darkness I cannot hide from You.  To You the night shines as bright as day.  Darkness and light are the same to You.”  Psalm 139:11-12

As a child, I was terrified of the dark.  Many nights, I chose to sleep with my closet light on.  Although I don’t sleep with the closet light on anymore, I still don’t like the absence of light.  My husband knows that if he turns off the lights in our basement while I’m down there doing laundry, I’ll scream!

Years ago, I found immense comfort in realizing that, to God, the night shines as bright as day.  The Bible assures me that God is Light and there is no darkness in Him (I John 1:5).  So whether I’m in the light or in the dark, it’s all the same to Him.  It’s comforting to know that I can never be lost to God.

God of Light,

Thank You that I can find security in Your light.  Amen.


 

Simply Refreshing, by Ellen Banks Elwell, copyright © 2008,.  Used by permission of Christian Art Gifts, RSA.  All rights reserved.

Unless otherwise indicated, all Scripture quotations are taken from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright © 1996, 2004. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188 USA. All rights reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

