My Future is in Your Hands

After grabbing my first cup of coffee-with-vanilla-creamer this morning, I settled into my ‘comfy spot’ to read from the One-Year Bible (New Living Translation).  Part of today’s reading was from Psalm 31.

“Have mercy on me, Lord, for I am in distress.  Tears blur my eyes.  My body and soul are withering away . . . But I am trusting you, O Lord, saying, “You are my God!”  My future is in your hands.”  Psalm 31:9,14-15 (NLT)

My thoughts were drawn to various times in my life when I’ve struggled to understand how God could possibly bring anything good out of circumstances which were bad.  Looking back, I now have the perspective to see that those times were in  God’s hands, and that He did help me and weave those strands into His larger purposes for my life. I know that I don’t understand those things in full even now, but from personal experience I see that God can be trusted.

“In describing his feelings, David wrote of the helplessness and hopelessness everyone feels when hated or rejected.  But adversity is easier to accept when we recognize our true relationship with the sovereign God (31:14-18).  Although our enemies may seem to have the upper hand, they are ultimately the helpless and hopeless ones.  Those who know God will be victorious in the end (31:23) . . . In saying, “My future is in your hands,” David was expressing his belief that all of life’s circumstances are under God’s control.  Knowing that God loves and cares for us enables us to keep steady in our faith regardless of our circumstances.  It keeps us from sinning foolishly by taking matters into our own hands or resenting God’s timetable.” Life Application Study Bible, p. 874

Most of us have times in our lives when we wonder how God can bring anything good out of the messes we find ourselves in.  Whether the issues are health-related, work-related, or family-related, we have no clue how the situations will shake out.  It’s comforting to be reminded that “My future is in Your hands.”

God’s Word – what a lifeline.

Blessings,

Ellen

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Future is in Your Hands

  1. Gail

    I am also grateful for those verses from the one year Bible. Thank you for the reminder of our God who is faithful in the midst of dark and uncertain times.

    Neat blog! The red London phone booths are soooooo YOU! Next time I read it, I will come with a cup of tea!

    Love, Gail

Leave a Reply

