Did you feel the earthquake this morning?

Did you feel the earth quake this morning?  If you live in Northern Illinois, you might have.

Sometime around 4:00 this morning, I woke up, felt the bed shaking, and heard the dishes out on our Dining Room hutch –  rattling.  “Do you think that was an earthquake?” I asked my husband.   “Oh, it was probably an airplane or something,” he said in his first-words-of-the-morning grog.

An hour later, when I was fixing coffee and my husband was sitting at our kitchen table  reading the news on his computer, he said “Whoa!  There WAS an earthquake this morning!  Listen to this . . . ” and he read me the CNN news report about this morning’s earthquake in our area.  Estimated magnitude of 4.3.  That’s a rare occurrence in these here parts.

Sitting down with my coffee to read from the One-Year Bible, I came to Proverbs 8:27-28: “I [Wisdom] was there when he established the heavens, when he drew the horizon on the oceans.  I was there when he set the clouds above, when he established springs deep in the earth.” I was reminded of God’s power in creating the deep parts of the earth, and of his ability to see those parts now – along with everything else in the universe.  Amazing.

Did any of you feel the earth quake this morning?

Blessings,

Ellen

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Did you feel the earthquake this morning?

  1. Very nice verse – I like the image of Wisdom always having been here, as a power that surrounds us.
    And, as an former Illinoisan, I’m sorry I missed the shaking!

  2. Thanks for your comment, Erica. You mentioned that you used to live in Illinois – what part?

Leave a Reply

