80 years old and going strong

HAPPY 80th, MOM!

This month, my Mom turned 80.  Psalm 90:10 records that “Seventy years are given to us!  Some even live to eighty.” I’m grateful that Mom’s included in that eighty category.  We had fun celebrating – an extended family gathering, a Ladies tea, and a cake and ice cream party with immediate family.

Some of the things we appreciate most about Mom (also Grandma to 11 and Great-Grandma to 1) are her generosity, her hospitality, and her love for God’s Word.  Here’s a little excerpt I wrote about her:

“To this day, my mom is overwhelmed at how God reached out to her with His grace and mercy.  So am I, because her faith in Christ subsequently pointed my dad to faith in Christ.  As they have served God over the years, they’ve blessed me, my siblings, and our spouses, as well as each of our children and generations yet to come.  When my mom was being drawn to Christ as a teenager, I wonder if she had any idea of the rich legacy she and her future husband would leave for generations yet to come.”

(Taken from The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book by Ellen Banks Elwell copyright 2008.  Used by permission of Crossway Books, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers, Wheaton, IL 60187, http://www.crossway.org).

We love you, Mom!


Quote for Today

“As for wrinkles – pshaw!  Why shouldn’t we have wrinkles?  Honorable insignia of long service in this warfare.”  C.S. Lewis, Letters to an American Lady (30 October 1958), p. 79.

Blessings,

Ellen



Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

