Grandma, who’s your favorite?

Sherri Litfin told me that one day after some of her grandchildren had been playing hide-and-seek in Granddaddy’s library, they ran to Sherri at the dinner table.  Almost in unison they asked, “Grammy, who do you love best?  I’m your favorite, right?”  At that moment, Sherri knew that saying she loved them equally and didn’t have a favorite would seem unsatisfying to them and might actually prolong the rivalry.  So she shocked them by saying, “As a matter of fact, I do have a favorite!”

Her grandchildren’s eyes got really big as they waited for her to go on.  Sherri quietly told them that whoever she was looking at – at that particular moment – was her favorite.  Then she looked around the circle, staring at them one at a time, saying, “You’re my favorite . . . you’re my favorite . . . you’re my favorite . . . you’re my favorite.”  When she finished, they broke into cheers and ran off, fully satisfied with her response.  Sherri heard them saying to each other, “I told you I was the favorite – she loves me best!”

What a great way to handle that question about favorites!  Sherri is a wise woman, and I’m grateful for her contribution to The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book.

Taken from The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book by Ellen Banks Elwell copyright 2008.  Used by permission of Crossway Books, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers, Wheaton, Il 60187, www.crossway.org.

Blessings to you and yours,

Ellen

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Grandma, who’s your favorite?

  1. That is so sweet! I jumped over here from Shelly’s blog, before I go to put one of the “grandchildren” to bed (much too late!) and enjoyed this sweet story. We love her, too! She is definitely my favorite mother-in-law. I like your blog!

  2. So fun that you hopped over here from Shelly’s blog, Carolyn! I am new to all things bloggy, but have visited your blog a couple of times. I like it – keep up the good work!

    I saw your cute photo of Shelly from the Women’s Retreat, and was touched – a lot – by the account you shared of one of your children’s premature births. Very tender, and a great reminder of the varied ways God orchestrates details in our lives.

    • Thank you, Ellen. Your blog is very impressive, especially for being so new to this! I will enjoy following it! My children have enjoyed that piano book you gave them that day that you visited their school, by the way! I will enjoy picking up tips for them and for me on your blog! Blessings, Carolyn

Leave a Reply

