He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands

Are there any little people in your life?  Young children, grandchildren, or pre-school students?  If yes, you might enjoy hearing today’s sample from The Toddler’s Songbook. (Simply click on the arrow above to begin.)

He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands

When you get to the 2nd verse – “He’s got the wind and the rain in his hands” – listen carefully.  It’s the voice of our middle son, Nate – recorded when he was eleven or twelve years old.  I won’t tell you how old Nate  is now, but he and his wife have a little tucker of their own.

At the time this song was recorded, Nate had no idea he would eventually have opportunities to travel the whole wide world – but he has. During the six or seven years he’s been working for Ravi Zacharias International Ministries, he’s made many around-the-world trips.

I’m guessing that Psalm 66:8-9 inspired the person who originally wrote this song – “Let the whole world bless our God and loudly sing his praises.  Our lives are in his hands . . . ” I’m grateful for the reminder.

I hope that you – and the little people in your life – enjoy the music.

Blessings,

Ellen

Taken from The Toddler’s Songbook by Ellen Banks Elwell copyright 2009.  Used by permission of Crossway Books, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers, Wheaton, Il 60187, www.crossway.org.  Illustrations by Caron Turk.


7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands

  1. James Elwell

    What fun to hear that song all over again. What a great project this was!

  2. Ellen,
    Thanks so much for giving me this new book and cd. I still have the old book and tape and Jonah enjoyed listening to it before I had the cd. He likes the new book even better than the old one and we often read and sing through the entire book together. He still doesn’t understand when I tell him it’s Mommy singing on the cd, but at least I think it’s cool! His favorite song is probably “Praise Him Praise Him” but he sings it, “Craisins, Craisins”.

    • Wow, Linnea – thanks for making this connection! Glad to hear that Jonah likes the CD. Isn’t it funny to hear the alternate words kids come up with for the REAL words to these songs – like craisins? When Chad was little, he used to sing the song you mentioned, “Praise Him, Praise Him, NAUGHTY little children” (instead of Praise Him, Praise Him, All ye little children.) I guess he had his theology straight, huh?

      Great to hear from you – I’ll visit your blog soon!

  3. How much fun, Ellen! That’s one of my favorite songs.
    Thanks for linking up to my carnival this week.

    • Hillary – I am new to blogging, so your Friday carnival was fun for me to experience. Thanks for letting me join in.

      I loved those cute clothes you picked up at consignment stores – absolutely amazing what you came away with. You’re a good shopper and a good writer!

  4. This is one of my favorite songs to sing to my daughter, especially when she wants verse after verse after verse, because I can make up verses for everyone. (He’s got Mommy and Daddy in his hands…He’s got Uncle James and Aunt Lauren in His hands…!)

    • Good for you that you are singing to your daughter so much and that you’re making up your own verses in the process. I’m not sure I was that clever . . .

      Your photo shows that she’s a little cutie!

      Thanks so much for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

