Friday Give-Away, Coming up . . .

For any of you interested in receiving a free copy of The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book (Crossway.org) OR  The Christian Mom’s Idea Book (Crossway.org), visit my blog (ellenbankselwell.wordpress.com)  this Friday, March 12, and enter the Give-Away by leaving me a comment.  (To see covers of these books, refer to the right side of this blog.)

I’ll be giving away copies (of the books mentioned above) to four different readers.   Those who win can choose their books, and I’ll pop them in the mail.  Winners will be chosen by random numbers (I’ll get my husband involved here) – not by the content of the comments.

In your comment on Friday, March 12 (this gives you some think-ahead time), please mention either:

(1) something memorable your mom or grandma did for you

OR

(2) something memorable your mom or grandma gave you

OR

(3) tell us what you called your Grandma . . . Grammy, Oma, Gram-grams, etc.

It’s that simple!  Your comments don’t need to be long – a sentence or two will do.

Today, I’m including some of the Bible’s references to GIVING:

(1) – “And Joseph gave orders to fill their [his brother’s] bags with grain, and to replace every man’s money in his sack, and to GIVE them provisions for the journey.  This was done for them.”  Genesis 42:25 (ESV)

(2) – “While I was speaking and praying, confessing my sin and the sin of my people Israel, and presenting my plea before the Lord my God for the holy hill of my God, while I was speaking in prayer, the man Gabriel, whom I had seen in the vision at the first, came to me in swift flight at the time of the evening sacrifice.  He made me understand, speaking with me and saying, “O Daniel, I have now come out to GIVE you insight and understanding.”  Daniel 9:20-22 (ESV)

(3) – “For God so loved the world, that he GAVE his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.”  John 3:16 (ESV)

Blessings to you all – and remember to come back Friday, March 12 and leave a comment to enter the Give-Away!

Ellen

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Friday Give-Away, Coming up . . .

  1. Welcome to Blogland. I have enjoyed what I read and it was fun to hear Nate.

    My mother gave me so many things. I remember a specific time when I was stunned that she gave me grace-or understanding or forgiveness.

    I broke her good white mixing bowl while drying dishes for her–probably around the age of 10. She did not scold or say a word. I stood absolutely still, mortified at what I had done. Mother got the broom and silently cleaned up the large pieces and swept up the small ones. Afterwards she returned to washing dishes. I said, “Aren’t you going to get mad at me?” She responded, “Why should I be mad at you, that was an accident.” I loved my mother completely at that moment. It was so wonderful to be understood.

  2. Lilla Toelcke

    Hi Ellen
    It was good to hear from you and welcome to “Grammyhood”! We just had our second on January 28th – Elisabeth Irene joins the joy of our lives, Clara Suzanne (26 months old.) Erin and Nathan live in Houston, but fortunately with his job for Continental Airlines – I’m able to get up there to see them fairly often (though never enough!) In fact, I should finish packing for my flight out tomorrow, so I’ll sign off! Warmly, Lilla

    • I’m grateful to hear about the birth of your second grandchild, Lilla! You contributed such wonderful ideas about books and reading to The Christian Mom’s Idea Book – your grandchildren will probably be some of the best-read kids around!

  3. Care

    It is fun to see you’ve joined blogland! Almost a year ago my third son was born — suddenly! He was born over five weeks early. Both my mother and my mother-in-law came right out and took weeks taking care of my older boys letting me stay in the NICU with my little preemie. Then they came back again closer to the due date when they had originally planned on coming to help! I am so incredibly grateful for that and my sons have great memories of all the time they got with their grandparents! Now, less than a year later I’m expecting a fourth. I’m still in my first trimester and have been surprisingly really sick, unlike the last three pregnancies. This week has been especially challenging with the stomach bug in my family as well as my littlest getting bronchitis. I was beginning to wonder how I was going to get through this when last night my mother in law called and told me she was coming out next Tuesday and spend over a week helping us out. The day she leaves my own mother arrives to do the same thing! What a gift! I know this is something from my mothers and not my grandmothers, but it’s a great gift to my children as well so I hope it counts! 🙂 Carolyn

  4. Oh, Carolyn – that was a sweet message. Thanks for taking time out of your challenging schedule to write. It MORE than counts!

    Hearing about how your mom and mother-in-law are helping brought tears to my eyes. They are a great example for new grandmas like me. My son and daughter-in-law in Atlanta asked me to come down there and help for a few days last month, and I was honored. It was a pleasure to spend time with my new grandson and appreciate Nate and Brit as young parents.

    Thanks again for sharing – blessings to you and yours!

  5. Jenny

    I called her Grandma!

  6. My mom used to take me out of school (once or twice a year) and take us to Chicago from Grand Rapids, just to go shopping and spend a day together. I loved the quality time, just me and mom, and it showed me how important I was to her. The fact that my dad encouraged it helped too!

  7. Hey, is this the Jennifer Klaver we knew from Taylor University days? You played in the orchestra, I think? Yes, your mom IS wonderful! We sure enjoyed meeting your folks through the Taylor Parents Cabinet.

    Thanks a bunch for stopping by. How fun to reconnect through a blog! I look forward to visiting yours . . .

Leave a Reply

