Friday Give-Away

Yesterday, I laughed when I read these words on my spunky daughter-in-law’s blog:

Chop, Chop, people, there are free books to be won!”

Thanks, Brit, for sending your readers over here for Friday Give-Away!

Thanks also to Crossway Books.  Yesterday and today, Crossway’s efficient publicist, Angie Cheatham, linked readers from Crossway’s blog (Crossway.org) and Crossway’s Facebook page over to this blog.

Four different readers who leave comments on this blog today will win a copy of either The Christian Mom’s Idea Book (Crossway.org) or The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book (Crossway.org).  Here’s how it works:

Leave a comment on this blog, and you will automatically be entered into the drawing.  You can leave any kind of (upstanding) comment you’d like, but here are a few suggestions:

(1) Mention something memorable that your mom or grandma did for you.

(2) Mention something memorable that your mom or grandma gave you.

(3) Tell us what you called your grandma . . . Grammy, Oma, Gram-Grams, etc.

It’s that simple!  Your comments don’t need to be long – a sentence or two will do.  Winners will be chosen by random numbers, not by the content of their comments.

You’ve got the whole day to submit comments.  A few people submitted them on Thursday, and yes – they will count, too.

Sometime on Saturday, I’ll assign numbers to each comment, and my husband will perform a very sophisticated drawing process. He will pick four numbers out of one of his hats.  We have plenty of those around here – he’s a real hat person. Then, I’ll notify the four winners and they can choose which of the two books they’d like me to send.

I leave you with a story that Dr. Gary Chapman, author of Five Love Languages, contributed to The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book:

“My grandmother Chapman suffered from severe arthritis.  Earlier she raised five children, but by the time I came along she was already unable to walk.  Someone had to move her from her bed to her chair.  That was the circle of her life.  She died when I was about five years old, but I remember that when I went to see her she would always tell me a Bible story.  I remember sitting on the floor, looking up at her, and listening intently.  She had little energy, but she used it to talk about what was important to her.  It is a memory that I treasure.” – Dr. Gary Chapman

Thanks for coming by, and I look forward to reading your comments!

Blessings,

Ellen

Taken from The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book by Ellen Banks Elwell copyright 2008.  Used by permission of Crossway Books, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers, Wheaton, Il 60187, www.crossway.org.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Friday Give-Away

  1. Belle Bickel

    Mom’s Idea book sounds like a great tool. I have 3 children 4yrs. and under and I could use some fresh ideas — especially from a Christian perspective.

  2. Suzanne Severns

    My sweet precious mommy gave me… the honor of caring for her in my home as she suffered with dementia the last 5 years of her life. It was a priviledge and I miss her so much! I only hope I can be half the Mimi to my 2 (soon to be 4) grandchildren that she was to my children.

  3. I already have your books, Ellen, so I don’t need to be added to the drawing. Just thought I’d say hi. 🙂 I simply called my grandmas “Grandma.” But my kids call my mom “Grandma Farm” because I was raised on a farm and that’s what she wanted to be called.

    • Grandma Farm – that’s cool. I love the things our kids come up with! I’ve met your mom, and she’s one classy lady. Thanks again for your patience and help with my blogging questions, Shelly!

  4. I went to college close to home and one year on my birthday my mom left a basket of heart-shaped muffins, a banana and juice with a balloon outside my dorm room door. What a fabulous birthday surprise!

    • Oh, Linnea, I cried when I read that . . . I miss your mom and her thoughtful ways. I can picture her doing that.

      One time when your mom and I were in a Deaconess meeting together and she brought some home-popped kettle corn, I oohed and aahed over how tasty it was. A few days later, she showed up on my doorstep with one of those old-fashioned corn poppers that she got for me at Twice is Nice, with her recipe for kettle corn! She was one of those people who was always doing kind things for others. What a great legacy she left for you . . .

Leave a Reply

