The Winners . . .

Over the last couple of days, I sponsored a Give-Away.  The drawing has now been completed, and four women who left comments somewhere on this blog will receive a free copy of either The Christian Mom’s Idea Book or The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book. The odds of winning were excellent.  My WordPress stats show that about 200 people visited this site in the last 48 hours, and 10 left comments.  I enjoyed reading the comments and making connections with the women who sent them.

The names of the winners – in the order my husband pulled them out of a hat:

Linnea, Belle, Carolyn, and Suzanne.

Congratulations, ladies!  I’ll email you soon to find out which book you’d like to receive.

For any of you interested in The Toddler’s Songbook or One Year Devotions for Moms, I’ll be giving away more books before Easter and Mother’s Day . . .

Have you ever won a door prize, a drawing, or a raffle?  I have, on three occasions.  One time I won a small space heater.  It wasn’t an exciting gift, but it was functional and came in handy when our family room got a little drafty on cold winter days.  Another time I won a sapphire and diamond necklace.  I was at a large banquet, and when my ticket number was called and I heard a description of the necklace, I thought, Oh, it’s probably some garish piece of jewelry that I would never wear. But to my delight it was a small, diamond-shaped pendant with one diamond surrounded by three sapphires, hanging on a beautiful gold chain.  I’ve enjoyed wearing it for about thirty years, and I would be disappointed if I ever lost it.  The third and last item I won was one ounce of gold.  At the time, gold was worth about $360 an ounce, so I was rather excited!

God’s Word tells me that wisdom is even more valuable than precious stones or gold; nothing can compare with it.

Happy is the person who finds wisdom and gains understanding.  For the profit of wisdom is better than silver, and her wages are better than gold.  Wisdom is more precious than rubies; nothing you desire can compare with her.  Proverbs 3:13-15

Wisdom cannot be won at a convention or as a result of buying a raffle ticket.  Proverbs 1:7 asks, “How does a man become wise?  The first step is to trust and reverence the Lord!”  The next verse offers a second step in gaining wisdom: parents’ teaching.  “Listen, my child, to what your father teaches you.  Don’t neglect your mother’s teaching.”  God’s Word has given us clear steps to follow as we seek to become wise.  If we really want wisdom and if we look for it, we will find it.

One Year Devotions for Moms, copyright 2005.  Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Carol Stream, IL 60188.  All rights reserved.

Thanks for stopping by, and I hope that you have a meaningful weekend!

Blessings,

Ellen

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Winners . . .

  1. Debbie

    Ellen,
    I am so glad I learned about your blog, and am enjoying reading it. Tomorrow is a baby shower for our newest grandson, who was born Wednesday – a couple of weeks early. At the shower, I am going to give the other grandmother a copy of The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book.
    Debbie

  2. Thanks for stopping by the blog, Debbie, and glad to hear that you’re enjoying it. I’m new to this whole blog thing, but I’ve made some interesting connections with other women that have been rewarding – like connecting with you. Have fun at the shower, and I’m grateful to hear about the arrival of your new grandson!

Leave a Reply

