Sunday Seven: Quotes on Serving

Quote # 1

God knows how often I pray for you.  Day and night I bring you and your needs in prayer to God, whom I serve with all my heart by spreading the Good News about his Son.   – Romans 1:9

Quote # 2

Do what you can, with what you have, where you are. – Theodore Roosevelt

Quote # 3

We may easily be too big for God to use, but never too small.  – Dwight L. Moody

Quote # 4

A visitor saw a nurse attending the sores of a leprosy patient.  “I would not do that for a million dollars,” she said.  The nurse answered, “Neither would I, but I do it for Jesus for nothing.”  – Corrie Ten Boom

Quote # 5

The object of love is to serve, not to win.  – Woodrow Wilson

Quote # 6

In the poor man who knocks at my door, in my ailing mother, in the young man who seeks my advice, the Lord Himself is present: therefore let us wash His feet.  – C.S. Lewis

Quote # 7

Whoever wants to be a leader among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first among you must become your slave.  For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.  – Jesus, Matthew 20:26-28

Many of us are hearing sermons or talks today that are given by pastors, teachers, or elders serving among us.  If you’d like to share a sentence or two that has been helpful to you, please leave a comment here for the rest of us.

Wishing you a significant Sunday,

Ellen

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sunday Seven: Quotes on Serving

  1. I don’t have a quote off the top of my head to share myself but I really loved the D.L. Moody quote you posted as well as the Corrie Ten Boom! Such great quotes! I’m going to write them down in our coffee shop I think. ^_^

  2. Glad you like those quotes , Grace. Coffee shop and quotes – sounds like a place I’d enjoy visiting!

Leave a Reply

