Mmmmm . . . Meat Loaf

Before Jim and I married thirty five years ago, women from my home church graciously hosted a wedding shower for me.  It was a surprise shower, so most parts of the shower remain a blur in my memory.  But there’s one thing about the shower that I remember.  Each woman who came brought a favorite recipe, typed (no computers back then)  on a 3×5 recipe card.

My grandmother was particularly excited about this.  I hadn’t done much cooking up to that point in my life, and she was a bit worried that Jim was going to starve.  There was no need for her to worry, however . . . just reading all those yummy recipes got me salivating – anxious to try them out.  Try them I did, and quickly discovered that they were winners.

Through the years, many of those recipes have become family favorites.  The meat loaf recipe I’m including here is somewhere at the top of our list. It’s a recipe that my young adult sons have called or emailed home requesting, wanting to make it for their friends.  MOIST and EASY, it’s always a big hit!

MEAT LOAF

2 lbs. ground round beef

1 envelope onion soup mix

1 cup sour cream

2 eggs

1 cup de-crusted bread crumbs

Mix all ingredients and shape into an oval.  Place in glass 9×9 (or slightly larger) Pyrex or Corelle dish and bake in the oven at 350 for 1 1/2 hours.

Extra Note: If there is some leftover (which there often is since it’s just the two of us), I cut it into chunks and use them as ‘meatballs of sorts’ for spaghetti or chili – YUM!

I hope you enjoy the recipe as much as our family has . . .

Blessings,

Ellen

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mmmmm . . . Meat Loaf

  1. I haven’t made meatloaf in years, but we’ve all been craving it lately. I think I may just have to try it sometime soon!

  2. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed, Shelly! If you try it, I’d enjoy hearing what your family thinks . . .

Leave a Reply

