Friday Favorite/Give-Away: HER MOTHER’S HOPE, by Francine Rivers

Her Mother’s Hope, by Francine Rivers, hit the bookstores this past Tuesday.

I usually don’t read much fiction, but this was a great read.  My husband read it, too, and I’m surprised at how many times we’ve referred to family relationships from the book and talked about family relations in general over the last couple of days.   That – to me – is one of the marks of an enduring book.  {By the way, the book has almost 500 pages.  We had advance copies from Tyndale House Publishers – we don’t read that fast.}

Would you like a crack at receiving a free copy of the book?  If you leave a comment on this blog between now and Sunday night, you’ll be entered into a drawing to receive a free copy of Her Mother’s Hope. I’ll mention the winner on Monday.

Here’s an Amazon book review of Her Mother’s Hope, taken from Booklist:

Swiss-born Marta Schneider was her Papa’s least favored child, and his abuse pushes her to leave home and achieve great things, first in nearby Interlaken, later in England, then Canada, and finally in California, where she and her German husband, Niclas, settle down to raise their four children in the lull between the two world wars. Niclas is a godly and trusting man with a university degree who nonetheless has a powerful desire to work the soil. So it falls to shrewd and ambitious Marta to protect them all from greedy and unscrupulous folk who would take advantage. Romance Writers of America Hall of Famer Rivers’ eagerly anticipated, first full-length Christian novel since 2003 is an emotionally rich exploration based loosely on her own family history as it follows world events through the first half of the twentieth century. The first in a two-part saga about four women, Rivers’ novel will appeal to readers who enjoy historical fiction and sweeping family sagas with exotic settings. As her compelling characters seek to do what they feel their faith demands, Rivers sets their resonant struggles against dusty streets, windswept Canadian plains, and California vineyards in vivid scenes readers will not soon forget. –Lynne Welch

Perhaps another reason why I liked reading the book is that I respect Francine Rivers.  My husband Jim took Francine and her husband, Rick, around England for a week on a book tour some years back.  Jim found Francine and Rick to be gracious and unpretentious – refreshing characteristics for a best-selling author and her spouse.

A couple of years ago, I wrote to Francine and asked if she would contribute a paragraph about one of her grandmothers for The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book. Even with her own writing deadlines to meet, Francine generously contributed.  Now that I’ve read her new book, what she sent me is especially meaningful.  I realized that the grandma she referred to in her paragraph for The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book is the character Marta in Her Mother’s Hope:

“When I was three years old, my mother had tuberculosis.  Her mother, Grandma Wulff, moved in with our family and took care of my brother (five) and me (three) while Dad worked and Mom convalesced.  Grandma made a very difficult time much easier on all of us.  She made a casserole we all dubbed “more” – because no one could have just one serving.  My grandmother did not know how to be idle.  Once, when the electricity went out, my dad wondered what the clicking sound was.  Grandma had continued to knit in the dark without dropping a single stitch!  When Mom was well, Grandma returned to her almond orchard and vineyard.  We all missed her.  She came with us on many family vacations, and each summer, my brother and I would spend several weeks with her at her home.  She took us to church and on Sunday drives to Lake Merced.  The rest of the week, she turned us loose to romp and swim in the irrigation ditches.  Many of my fondest childhood memories include Grandma Wulff.” — Francine Rivers (Taken from The Christian Grandma’s Idea Book, pp. 208-209.)

Her Mother’s Hope, by Francine Rivers, is now for sale at your local bookseller, or from Amazon.  I highly recommend it!

If you’re interested in visiting Friday Favorites on other parts of the blogosphere, stop by The Other Mama’s blog.

Blessings,

Ellen

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Friday Favorite/Give-Away: HER MOTHER’S HOPE, by Francine Rivers

  1. Joyce Fahs

    Thanks for this recommendation; I’ve appreciated Francine Rivers’ writings, too.

  2. I just saw this reviewed on another blog and thought it sounded good. Hope I win! 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by, Shelly – especially when you’re so busy. With getting ready to speak at a women’s retreat, how did you find time to bake those three loaves of bread in the photo on YOUR blog? Mmmmm . . . do they ever look great!

  3. This book sounds great! I love that the author is genuine and wonderful, as well! How neat to know her. And grandmothers are pretty special people. I got to spend some time today with mine and she is truly a blessing. 🙂

  4. Sounds like a great book! I have never read a Francine Rivers book yet, so if I don’t win, I will purchase it (or head to the library for another of her books)!

    • One of the things I like about Francine’s writing is that she always begins (in her own mind) with some questions that she has about her relationships or her walk with God – and then she sets out to work on those questions. I think that’s something that her readers benefit from. Glad you stopped by, Carolyn!

  5. I read her Lineage of Grace series years ago and loved those books. This one looks good too! Thanks for the review and giveaway:)

  6. Carole Pflederer

    I’m putting the book on my to-read list. Last night I made meatloaf with your recipe. It was delicious!!! If your book recommendations are as good as your meatloaf recommendations, it should be very good.

  7. Debbie

    I do like to read fiction – good fiction. I am always happy when someone recommends a book worth reading. Thanks.

  8. Care

    I love Francine Rivers! That’s amazing that you got to know her!

Leave a Reply

