Friday Favorite Cookies

Oh, the places these cookies have gone . . .

I’ve taken them on overseas flights to publishing friends in Singapore, London, Frankfurt, Vienna, Hong Kong and  Korea.

I’ve delivered them as a peace offering when I’ve needed to make an apology.

I once gave them to a computer ace at my husband’s office who helped him out of a quagmire.

I’ve shared them with editors who have worked on my books.

I’ve arranged them on Christmas Cookie plates for pastors at my church.

I gave them to all my sons’ college professors at Thanksgiving [four years to Grove City College – eight years to Taylor University.]

I took them to the nurse’s station at the hospital where our daughter-in-law delivered our first grandchild.

I gave them to the First Lady of Ghana and her entourage when they visited Tyndale House Publishers last fall.

These cookies are a big hit wherever they go . . .  your family and friends might just like them too.

Here’s the recipe, if you’d like to try them:

ELLEN’S DARK-CHOCOLATE-CHIP-OATMEAL COOKIES


(Makes about 12-13 dozen cookies)


Cream together:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter

1 cup (2 sticks) margarine

2 cups sugar

2 cups brown sugar

Add:

4 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

Add:

8 oz. melted dark chocolate bar (like Ghirardelli Bittersweet)

In a separate (very large) bowl, stir together:

4 cups flour

5 cups (dry) oatmeal

1 tsp. salt

2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. baking soda

Add dry ingredients to the rest of the batter and mix well.

Finally, add:

24 oz. chocolate chips

3 cups chopped pecans

Shape cookie dough into balls, and place on ungreased cookie sheets about 2 inches apart.  Bake at 375 for 9 minutes.  (I switch the top and bottom trays half way through, moving the top tray to the bottom shelf of the oven and the bottom tray to the top shelf.)

After they cool, they freeze well in ziploc bags.

I’m curious.  What are some of the places YOUR cookies have gone?

Blessings,

Ellen

Visit More Friday Favorites at  The Other Mama

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Friday Favorite Cookies

  1. Oh, these sound great! Oatmeal cookies are my favorite, and to add chocolate? Bliss!

    My early attempts at baking, when I was a young girl, went to South Korea, where my Dad was serving a remote tour for the Air Force. I remember baking the cookies with my Mom and Sisters to send to Daddy. Mom would stack the cookies in used Pringles canisters for shipping so that they would arrive as whole cookies and not just crumbs. My sisters and I would tape drawings to the outside of the canisters to decorate them.

    My ‘grown up’ cookies have traveled to Alaska, Egypt, Iceland, Iraq, Iran and Afghanistan, in care packages to friends who are serving in the military- still packed in Pringles canisters, though now with fancy paper taped to the ouside instead of drawings!

    • What a sweet story about sending cookies to your Dad when he was in the Air Force, Angela. And that pringles can idea . . . hmmmm – I’m on to that one. I have some cookies I’d like to send across the ocean in the mail, and that sounds like a great way to do it. Thanks!

  2. Rebekah

    What a great recipe!
    I love baking cookies and I am constantly in search of a good recipe. My cookies usually go in my tummy and some make it to work with me to share with the other ladies.

  3. These sound fantastic!
    I think my cookies have gone over my lips and through my gums, mainly.
    Your story is MUCH better!
    I can’t wait to try them!

Leave a Reply

