One-Year Bible for Women – GIVE-AWAY!

The One Year Bible gets me up each morning.

Early.

It has for years.

It’s one of the things I’m passionate about.

It’s a lamp for my feet and a light for my path.

It teaches me what is true.

It helps me realize what’s wrong in my life.

It has gotten me through some times in my life when I wondered if I was going to make it.  “If your instructions hadn’t sustained me with joy, I would have died in my misery.  I will never forget your commandments, for by them you give me life.”  Psalm 119:92-93

It’s prepared and equipped me for things that – earlier in my life – I had no clue I would ever be doing.

It is my source of hope.

Some of you have a copy of the One-Year Bible.  If you’re not familiar with it, though, here’s how it works.  The whole Bible is arranged in a format that allows us to read through the Bible in a year.  Each day there’s a short reading from the Old Testament, a short reading from the New Testament, a reading from Psalms, and a verse or two from Proverbs.  I’m guessing that each day’s reading can be covered in about 10 minutes – if the reader is in a hurry.  I like to take my time, though, and drink a cup of coffee or two (with vanilla creamer) while I ponder what I read.

My husband reads from his One-Year Bible each morning (yes, there are more masculine copies than the one pictured above).  He sits in his downstairs office and I take a comfy spot in our Living Room.  After my husband comes upstairs, we usually spend a few minutes comparing notes – things that jumped out at us, or things we have questions about.

I have some friends that read through the One-Year Bible, too.  I guess it’s like a book club of sorts – a very good book club, since it’s the Bible and since we’re all reading the same thing on the same day (most of the time . . . . )

I decided to feature the One Year Bible in my blog posts this week.  Each day, I’ll include a few verses from the day’s reading.

This Friday (April 2), I’d like to give away two copies of the One Year Bible for Women – to two people who leave comments on this blog anytime this week (from Monday morning through Friday midnight.)  And I’ll announce the winners on Saturday.

Here are a few verses from today’s reading:

“So commit yourselves wholeheartedly to these words of mine.  Tie them to your hands and wear them on your forehead as reminders.  Teach them to your children.  Talk about them when you are at home and when you are on the road, when you are going to bed and when you are getting up.  Write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates, so that as long as the sky remains above the earth, you and your children may flourish in the land the Lord swore to give your ancestors.”  Dueteronomy 11:18-21

“One day Jesus said to his disciples, “Let’s cross to the other side of the lake.”  So they got into a boat and started out.  As they sailed across, Jesus settled down for a nap.  But soon a fierce storm came down on the lake.  The boat was filling with water, and they were in real danger.  The disciples went and woke him up, shouting, “Master, Master, we’re going to drown!”  When Jesus woke up, he rebuked the wind and the raging waves.  Suddenly the storm stopped and all was calm.  Then he asked them, “Where is your faith?”  The disciples were terrified and amazed.  “Who is this man? they asked each other.  “When he gives a command, even the wind and waves obey him!”  Luke 8:22-25

If you’d like to be entered into the drawing for one of the two One Year Bibles for Women I’m going to give away, just leave a comment somewhere on this blog between now and Friday midnight.  In the meantime, enjoy the excerpts . . .

Blessings,

Ellen

One Year Bible for Women, copyright 2003, 2007.  Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.  Carol Stream, IL 60188.  All rights reserved.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “One-Year Bible for Women – GIVE-AWAY!

  1. Care

    I read through the Bible in a chronological format, but not this format. Sounds great!

  2. Awe your blog is super cute! Please enter me in the giveaway!

  3. Thanks so much for the giveaway and the excerpts. I’ve never read this Bible, but it looks fantastic!

    • Glad you like the excerpts, Kristina. And yes – I agree that this Bible is fantastic. In addition to the wealth of what’s inside, Tyndale design did a great job with the cover. Feminine!

  4. Sherri Myers

    Hi, I enjoyed reading about how this one year Bible came to be published. Behind the scenes stories are always fun to read, and I’m glad Ken Taylor was persistent (and it helps to own the company! lol). I’ve never had a one-year Bible and always wanted to read through the Bible in a year, so would you please enter me in the drawing to win one of the two in your giveaway? I would love to win one and begin my journey through the entire Bible in a year. Thank you and God bless!

    • Glad you enjoyed reading how it came to be published, Sherri. I’ve given presentations about the One Year line in India and Singapore, and that was a fun story to tell! Yes, reading through the Bible in a year is a great journey.

  5. Sounds wonderful! Thanks for the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

