Best-Ever Brownies

Here’s what happens when I bake Best-Ever Brownies for my friends at Tyndale . . . or set them out for my kids and their friends . . . or serve them for dessert with a scoop of chocolate-chip ice cream and hot fudge sauce:

Would you like the recipe?

Best-Ever Brownies


1 stick butter and 1 stick margarine (1 c. total)

2 cups sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

4 eggs

4 squares (4 ounces) unsweetened chocolate, melted

2 cups flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 chopped nuts, optional

Cream butter till fluffy.  Add sugar and vanilla and beat well.  Add eggs and beat for 2 minutes.  Blend in melted chocolate.  After stirring flour and salt together, blend into the batter.  Stir in nuts.

Turn into a greased 9 x 13 pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 33 minutes. Cool and cut.  (Small pieces if served as a snack, larger squares if used as a dessert.)

Sometimes I frost them with vanilla icing, sometimes I sprinkle confectioner’s sugar over them, and sometimes I serve them as a dessert with ice cream and hot fudge on top.  It’s a great dessert for company.

Enjoy!

Blessings,

Ellen

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Best-Ever Brownies

  1. Debbie

    Ellen,

    What size pan do you use to bake your brownies?

    Debbie

  2. Mmmmm. Looks good, Ellen! Have you ever made Ina Garten’s brownie recipe? It takes a POUND of butter, but they are also delicious.

  3. Glenna Barr

    Hi Ellen,
    I made these brownies tonight. They were so easy to cut. I loved that. I’ve made some boxed types that were great but very messy.
    One question- was I correct to use the whole 8 oz box of unsweetened chocolate? There were four large pieces in the box.
    Thanks.
    Glenna

    • Hi, Glenna! Oops . . . I should have included that those 4 squares of chocolate are each 1 oz 🙂 That means 4 oz of unsweetened chocolate total. If you had 8 oz, that was probably one CHOCOLATEY pan of brownies. I just edited the post to specify – thanks for your question. Hopefully it’s clear now. These are the brownies my Mom baked when I was a kid, so I grew up on these things and still make them a lot. Enjoy! Ellen

Leave a Reply

