I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth

I have been exploring several parts of it, though . . .

These last few months have been so busy, I almost forgot that I  have a blog.

Since I’m not sure where to start, an old phrase comes to mind – A picture is worth a thousand words. I think I’ll post a bunch of photos about places I’ve been and people I’ve seen.  

In July, we spent a wonderful week in Hilton Head, South Carolina with Chad, Nate, Brit and Jensen.  We were sad that Jordan wasn’t able to be with us – he was teaching in Korea at the time – and we missed him a lot.  Thankfully, we were able to see him in September – I’ll include those photos further down.

During our time in Hilton Head, we rented bikes and Jim and I enjoyed riding in the evenings.  One  night at dusk, I almost rode over a Copperhead snake that was slithering across the bike trail in the woods . . . Eeewww!

In August, we left for a three-week business trip to Beijing, Seoul, and Singapore.  First we had meetings in Beijing.  Later on that week, when Jim and one of his Tyndale colleagues got stuck in Shanghai during the typhoon there, I covered for Jim and hosted a few more business meetings in Beijing by myself!  Thankfully, Jim returned in time for us to keep our scheduled flight to Seoul, where we participated in a publishing conference and got to spend a weekend with Jordan.

Starbucks in Seoul is pretty much like Starbucks here in Wheaton – except for the sign.  During our weekend in Seoul, we were grateful to spend time with Jordan and tromp around parts of that big city together.

Unlike anything you’d see in Wheaton, this was one view from the Gyeongbokgung Palace grounds.

Korean Barbecues are not for the faint of heart!  Whoa, baby . . .  the food was so spicy that my face began sweating the minute we walked in the door!   It was a fun evening, and I was grateful for the big orange bib they provided with the meal.  We invited Harry Kernitz – one of Jordan’s friends from Taylor University days – to come along.  Harry teaches in a different part of Seoul and is enjoying his experience there as well.

During one of the conference days in Seoul, we met over lunch with some of our friends from Duranno Press.  We feel blessed to meet with such special people around the world.

One evening, we stopped into a YP Bookstore and were pleased to find a bunch of Tyndale’s NLT Bibles in Korean/English.  These are fun discoveries, since that’s one of the things we’re there to license and promote!

Here we are at work in Singapore, where we gave a 2-hour presentation on “Trends in Christian Publishing”, and met for a couple of days with customers from various parts of Asia in regards to rights and exports.

Some of our publishing friends from Campus Crusade Media in Singapore –  Hui Lin and Mui Ing – took us out to dinner at a lovely Italian Restaurant.

In order to get back to Chicago from Singapore, we had to fly back through Beijing and stayed overnight at a hotel close to the airport.  After grabbing a quick dinner, we walked around the neighborhood and came upon a grocery store.  I’m glad we went inside – I had fun taking photos!

Would you like to buy a fish or two?  You pretty much get the whole thing . . .

Or, you can buy it in pieces . . .

Or, you can take some critters home alive . . .

Maybe some of you gourmet chefs have used these in your recipes . . . I’m not familiar with them, though.  I found them in the produce section.  If anyone knows what they are and whether they’re a fruit or a vegetable, I’d be pleased to hear your take on them.

Now these looked familiar to me.  It’s pretty easy to spot an Oreo cookie just about anywhere in the world.

I like the unique way they package their eggs . . .

And if you come out of the grocery store with more things than you can easily carry (which we didn’t because we were flying back to Chicago the next morning), you can hire one of these to drive you and your purchases home!

Well now, that brings me up to late September.  I think I’ll wait until the next blog to post more photos of a few other places we’ve visited between then and now.

I won’t wait three months to do it, though.

Blessings,

Ellen

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth

  1. Ellen!!! I’ve been wondering where you went! Glad to see you back on the blog and at church. 🙂

  2. Thanks, Shelly – it’s nice to be missed. We were sad to miss six Sundays at church – 3 in Asia, 1 in Atlanta, and 2 in Europe. We had good trips, but it’s good to be home. This past Sunday we loved being back to College Church! Always fun to sit behind your sweet family 🙂

  3. Linnea Taylor

    I’m almost positive that spiky fruit was durian. It’s popular in Indonesia, too. It has a really strong odor and they even post signs on public transportation prohibiting passengers from boarding with durian. You also have to be very careful when walking under a durian tree because if one falls and hits you on the head there could be serious damage!

    • Very interesting, Linnea! I was surprised at how quickly I heard back from some of my blog friends about the ‘mystery food’ – thanks! And that’s funny that durian is prohibited on public transportation. That’s kind of how I feel about peas . . . place them at the opposite end of the table from me, please.

      Are you and your family presently in Indonesia? While Jim and I were in Europe a couple weeks ago, we met with some executives from Times Bookstores in Indonesia – are you familiar with those stores?

  4. Lilla Toelcke

    Just last week I asked my friend, Mary, if she had seen you lately at College Church, since it had been so long since you posted – so it’s good to once again read your blog!
    I was going to guess the spiky veggie-thing was a “horned melon.” I know they’re used in Oriental cooking. Perhaps that’s another name for “durian” suggested by Linnea T.

    • Great to hear from you, Lilla, and nice to hear that we were asked about! It’s funny that two of my blog friends wondered where we’d been – you and Shelly. And my friend Shelly and your friend Mary were both sitting immediately in front of Jim and I at church this past Sunday – interesting!

  5. Joyce Fahs

    So good to hear from you again, Ellen! Sounds like you’ve had a busy, but good, summer. Blessings…

    • It HAS been a busy summer and beginning of the fall, and as you said, it’s been good. I’ll post a few more things about our expeditions in the not-too-distant future . . . . Thanks for welcoming me back, Joyce!

  6. Wow! Ellen, what adventures you have had. I’ve been away from blogging for awhile as well and hope to post a little something every day for a week now. It does kind of seem like if I don’t write a paragraph about it, it didn’t happen. I was glad to look at your photos.

  7. I’m glad to discover that I’m not the only one who’s been away from blogging for a little while, Brenda. I look forward to visiting yours!

Leave a Reply

